top of page
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Trussell

Sensory Distraction Techniques

Updated: Apr 29, 2021

Let’s just say… I used to not be a huge believer in therapy. That is, until I was diagnosed with panic disorder at 24. Before this diagnosis, I had been to a number of mental health professionals, but I had never found one that I felt a connection with. When I started going to therapy, I was sixteen and, needless to say, much less self-aware than I am at 25. At the time, what I really wanted was for someone to just listen. When these providers began to give me concrete advice is when I started crawling back into my shell. I genuinely didn’t think any of the things suggested would actually work. Most of my problems back then centered around high-school drama, heartbreak, and feeling misunderstood, but little did I know that there was so much more to life than my sixteen-year-old self thought and I had no idea that, years later, therapy would be one of the only tools that would help me and give me guidance on daily issues that I would face.


When I was diagnosed with panic disorder in August 2020, I felt both relieved to have a diagnosis, but I also felt that it was a death sentence. I didn’t want to wake up every day and feel this way. I began to do as much research as I possibly could on the disorder. The term that kept coming up was “cognitive behavioral therapy.” I knew from that point forward that I wasn’t going to be able to do this alone. I knew I needed to see a therapist, despite my previous objections. This time, I had a new perspective because I felt like I was a new person. My brain had changed and so had I. When I go to see my therapist now, I love to have someone who will listen to me talk, but more importantly, I want advice and as much as I can get. I began to realize that I wanted the advice, because my disorder had pulled me under. I wanted to be the strong, independent, creative, innovative 25-year-old that I knew I really was deep down.


Recently, I had what I would consider a great session with my therapist. This session was so great because I was told about physical actions I could do to lessen my anxiety and to help when my panic, emotions, and intrusive thoughts begin to build up. These tools were all things that I could eat, feel, or create. My therapist described them as sensory distraction. She explained that they would take my mind away from the negative and scary thoughts and re-train my brain to focus on something new. Because I am a fellow mental health warrior, I wanted to share the main sensory distraction techniques that I discovered through my own research and through the help of my designated mental health professional. 1. Suck on Warheads, Mints, Lozenges or LifeSavers

If you are beginning to feel the physical symptoms of your anxiety mounting or a panic attack coming on, sucking on some kind of hard candy can distract your brain from the negative thoughts. If you focus on the feel of the candy on your tongue and how it tastes, it may distract you long enough to bring you back down to reality. I personally found the idea for Warheads on TikTok and, due to the sourness and shock value, believe that this kind of candy could be effective in “shocking” your senses enough to calm you down.



2. PlayDoh

PlayDoh used to be so fun as a kid and having some kind of creative outlet is always a good thing, in my opinion, but PlayDoh can be used for more than just fun. By rolling and smoothing it in your hands, you can focus on the texture and also re-train your brain to create something in the process. You can even put some PlayDoh in each hand and knead it until you feel better.



3. Stress Balls

My therapist especially suggested stress balls as a way of sensory distraction. By squeezing it and paying attention to the buoyancy and the way that it regains its shape, you can distract yourself long enough to come down from an attack. It can also help with anxiety fidgeting and bad habits like nail biting. I personally bought the stress balls that have the cool netting and gooey-looking texture because they are both aesthetically pleasing, and it adds an extra layer of distraction than just your average stress ball.



4. Lavender Essential Oil

I also saw on TikTok and was told by my therapist that lavender essential oils can be effective in helping settle your senses. It is known to have calming effects and healing properties and can even aid in sleep. By having an essential oil bottle ready to open and smell when you are beginning to feel anxious, it may help calm your anxiety enough for you to refocus. I also use lavender essential oil in my baths at the end of the day and it helps my muscles to feel less tense. It’s also great to diffuse before going to sleep or when used as a pillow spray.



5. Knitting/Using a Ball of Yarn

My therapist suggested knitting as a way to keep my hands preoccupied and it wasn’t really for me, but I think that anyone who is interested in it, should give it a try. It’s known to be a great distraction technique and is even used in inpatient facilities. My therapist even suggested buying a ball of yarn and running my fingers through it when I feel an attack coming on, because just the feel of something different and unique can distract you enough to give you a moment more to refocus your thoughts.



6. Kneading/Baking Bread

The form of sensory distraction that came the most recommended by my therapist was kneading and baking bread. She explained that when I feel an attack coming on, if I am angry, or upset, or just plain anxious, that kneading bread could be extremely therapeutic. She said that beating and punching it is the best part about making the bread and that you can put all of your negative feelings into it, while creating something beautiful and delicious in the end. If you are gluten free like me, you can search for gluten free bread dough or, if you are not allergic to gluten, you can still make the bread and give it to someone else once you are done. In turn, you have taken something overwhelming and negative and turned it into something thoughtful. You’ve created something positive from all of your hardship.



When I was ordering some of these things, my Amazon cart looked like I was preparing for Halloween, serving as a camp counselor, and someone who worked a stressful 9-5 job. Aside from my Amazon cart looking strange, I truly hope that you will find some of these sensory distraction tips helpful, if you ever find yourself in a situation where you need to use them, and I wish you all the best in your mental health journey.


Sincerely,

Caroline Trussell

Founder of Be Still Collective

댓글


bottom of page